◄ Back to StudentsFirst.org

‹ Back to Press Releases

Educators Honored for Excellence in the Classroom

Five educators receive Excellence in Teaching Award

Indianapolis, IN. November 26 - StudentsFirst Indiana is proud to recognize five top-flight Indiana educators as recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award. The Indiana Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes educators for their commitment to ensure that their students receive a high quality education.

“The Excellence in Teaching Award recipients exemplify greatness in education,” said Brent Kent, StudentsFirst Indiana State Director. “Each of our individual successes can be traced back to the work of an outstanding teacher. Countless students will be able to trace their success to this group of teachers and we appreciate the opportunity to recognize them for their work.”

Over thirty Hoosier educators were nominated for the Excellence in Teaching Award. Each educator was nominated and vetted by a panel comprised of educators. The recipients, including a brief bio and excerpt from their nomination, are as follows:

Valerie Anglemyer, English Language Arts Teacher
Northwood Middle School, Wakarusa IN

“Mrs. Anglemyer has taken the lead at our school incorporating technology and data into student instruction and communication with parents.”

Jackie Gregg, Elementary School Teacher
Hoosier Academies Virtual School

“Ms. Gregg has the ability to have each student learn the material no matter what the obstacle the student may have.”

Thomas Hakim, Mathematics Teacher
Indianapolis Lighthouse College Preparatory Academy

“Mr. Hakim's two key strengths as an educator - data-driven instruction and building relationships with hard-to-reach students - are what has helped him lead his students to such exceptional ISTEP scores and growth over the past few years.”

Jacob Tandy, Special Education Teacher
Emmerich Manual High School, Indianapolis IN

“The students we serve are in tremendous need of an adult male role model like Mr. Tandy. He is a remarkable man of character and does a great job forming the necessary relationships with our students to help them be successful.”

Janie Ulmer, Virtual Learning Academy Director
LaPorte High School

“Ms. Ulmer has changed what it means to be a student, and she has given us Slicers a sense of pride not only in our schools but in ourselves.”

StudentsFirst Indiana will provide each winner with a $100 gift certificate for classroom supplies and an opportunity to be recognized by legislative leaders at the Indiana Statehouse.

For more information about the Excellence in Teaching Award and StudentsFirst Indiana, please visit www.studentsfirst.org/indiana.

About StudentsFirst:

StudentsFirst is a bipartisan grassroots movement of more than 2 million citizens nationwide working to ensure educators are valued for the critical role they play in kids’ lives, families have high-quality school choices and a real say in their children's education, and our tax dollars are spent wisely on what works for kids. Led by former Washington D.C. Public Schools Chancellor Michelle Rhee, StudentsFirst is active in 18 states and has successfully helped pass more than 110 student-centered policies across the country. For more information visit www.studentsfirst.org.

Contact: mediarequests@studentsfirst.org